Wisdom: Learning Lessons from Others’ Mistakes

At our church gathering last Sunday, we discussed John 1:1 “In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God.” Jesus, according to John, was the Word of God at the beginning of creation. Such a Word becomes Wisdom. In short, Jesus is personified wisdom, which is why he is the way, the truth, and the life. Wisdom brings life. It is why the first Christians were called followers of the Way. And is why when they translated this passage into Chinese, it became, “In the beginning was the Dao,” which mean way, and is the word/concept fundamental to Daoism.

I love it. When we seek Wisdom, we are seeking God. And we find that which we seek. “Seeking Wisdom” could easily have been (maybe should have been) the title of this blog.

My question today is how we can learn lessons from others (which may be the whole point of history). Or to put it differently, what are some lessons you should have learned but didn’t and ended up paying the price for later? (And this ties in to our regrets.)

The things that come to mind for me are financial mistakes, project mistakes, areas of immaturity, and physical mistakes. Here are some (now humorous) examples:

  1. Years ago I invested all my savings into options trading and lost my shirt. So I become more conservative in my approach to investing.
  2. We attempted to convert our front yard into a drought-tolerant landscape without adequately researching how to kill bermuda grass. Our 5 year war with the plant has been a failure. I’ve learned it is usually better (ie. wiser) to do a job well the first time so you don’t have to do it several more times. “Slow and steady,” as they say.
  3. I once had a semi-psychotic episode in response to tamiflu, so in a panicked frenzy, I went to the emergency room. After waiting for 4 hours, I was completely fine. They did nothing for me, and it still cost $1500. I wish I had figured out a nearby urgent care clinic beforehand…
  4. Once I didn’t go to the dentist for about 5 years… and I ended up with a mouthful of cavities and 3 root canals.
  5. I do not regret getting married young or my divorce. But I do regret not getting counseling sooner, which was a combo of pride and cheapness. I also regret the emotional immaturity of avoiding negative emotions (anger, sadness, fear, etc.), which I’m forever working on. Lean in.
  6. Impulsively I have purchased things that… may not have been the best decision. I once purchased not one, but a two-year subscription to an online Spanish learning website… that I used maybe twice. I once purchased a $1500 piano tuning coarse that I did not come close to finishing. I have found that the Ents were right. Wisdom rarely moves with haste. Slow down. And talk with others (especially those who might disagree with you) in making big decisions. Communal discernment can be a beautiful thing.
  7. Lastly, I have made a good number of terrible decisions while under the influence. “Not my finest moments…” to say the least. Undoubtedly, wisdom encompasses many types of moderation. Stay balanced. There is a season for all sorts of things, and wisdom seems to know when those seasons occur.

As always, I’m curious what lessons you have learned the hard way. Or any insight about how to glean from the lessons of others. Or resources/books?!

Blessings in the Journey!

Other posts on wisdom: its essential-ness, two more, fearing the right things the right degree, dancing between love and justice.

About Nate Turner

Right now, my primary hope in life is to journey "further up and further in" toward wisdom, wonder and joy. I live with my wife and son near downtown Fresno. And I try to escape to the mountains any chance I can get.
This entry was posted in wisdom and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment